PNR Online | What is PNR STATUS | PNR Enquiry

PNR is the short form given for ‘Passenger Name Record’ and it is saved as a record in IR-CRS (Indian Railways computer reservation system) database which saves journey details of a passenger, or group of passengers. PNR (Passenger Name Record) is unique ten digit number. It is provided against every booked train ticket. No matter if you are booking the ticket online or physically, the ticket will always have a PNR number. A single PNR number can be provided to a maximum of six passengers, whenever a group booking is done.

All the details of passengers are stored in a relational database of a centralized reservation system, whenever we book a reserved railway ticket for a train in Indian Railways. These details are saved along with a unique ten digit number which is known as PNR and it is always printed in the left top corner of the ticket.

Passenger’s personal info including its name, age, gender etc. is saved in the database against this reference number.

Every train has limited seats, sometime we may find it difficult to get a confirmed ticket. Booking status of such ticket changes only when there is any availability of reserved seats after cancellations of some reserved tickets. This new current reservation status is named as PNR status

How to check PNR Status Online | PNR Online

There are different ways through which PNR status enquiry can be done. Some of them are listed below:

1. PNR status Online enquiry through online websites
2. Current reservation status check using SMS
3. Mobile applications
4. Railway enquiry counters at the railway station
5. Final reservation charts

PNR Status Online Check | PNR Status Online Enquiry Using SMS

Railway has started an SMS service for PNR enquiry for better customer satisfaction. Passengers having no internet access, find it useful and convenient. Most popular of them are as follows:

1. SMS service 139
139 SMS service was started by IRCTC. To get PNR status on mobile through SMS, you need to send a message on 139 as follows.
PNR <PNR number>
For Example PNR 1023456767
Available on: Aircel, Vodafone, BSNL, iDEA, LOOP, MTNL, MTS, Reliance, TATA, Telenor, Airtel

2.SMS service 5676747
rail zone maintains this SMS service.
PNR <PNR number> and send it to 5676747
For Example PNR 1023456767

PNR Status Online Enquiry through Online Websites

Checking PNR status Online through online websites is most frequently used way to know your current PNR status as it is easy and also reliable. Some websites that can be used for enquiry:
This is Indian Railways official portal. It is designed and maintained by CRIS (Centre for Railway Information Systems).
IRCTC (Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation) is the only official partner of Indian Railways that manages online ticket booking. If you are booking your railway ticket on IRCTC website. Just log in to IRCTC online website and click ‘Booked Ticket History’ button

PNR Status Online on Mobile

Many mobile applications on various platforms(Android, Windows, iOS) has been launched to check PNR status Online on your mobile.

Through these apps, you can check your PNR status in three simple steps.
1) Find your PNR number printed on your ticket.
2) Enter 10 digit PNR in the app UI.
3)Hit get the status button.
One can check the PNR status on desktop, mobile or on the tablet.

PNR Status Online Enquiry through Railway Enquiry Counters |  Railway Station Enquiry Counter | PNR status Online

We can do this by simply asking the attendee at railway enquiry counter at a particular railway station.

PNR Status Online Help | PNR Status Meaning

How to get the reservation status of my ticket?

The reservation status or PNR status is always shown on your ticket. If your ticket is confirmed, your coach number, as well as berth numbers, will be mentioned on the ticket in all classes instead First Class and AC First Class. For these two classes, the word “Confirmed” will be printed with the class of travel. If your ticket is in RAC (Reservation against Cancellation)/Waitlisted status, it will always be mentioned on your ticket.

Following Keywords specify some specific PNR or Seat status as shown.

CAN refer to Cancelled
CNF refers to Confirm and the seat is allotted after the chart will be prepared.
RAC refers to Reservation Against Cancellation – passenger allowed to travel and also two passengers can share the same berth. A full berth is allotted if confirmed passenger somehow do not board the train
WL refers to Waitlist – Passengers are not allowed to travel with waitlisted e-ticket and ticket can be cancelled before 30 minutes of the departure of the train.
RLWL refers to Remote Location Waitlist – Small stations have a separate quota for the seats and its waitlisted seats are given status as RLWL.
PQWL refers to Pooled Quota Waitlist – Passengers who are travelling between intermediate stations are given this quota and are having a separate waiting list other than the general waitlist.
RSWL refers to Road-Side Waitlist – It is the waiting list which is station specific.
REL refers to Released
NR refers to No-Room and No more bookings can be made
NOSB refers to No seatBerth – Children who are below 12yrs, paying child fare are not allotted seats and their PNR status shows NOSB
WEB CAN refer to Railway Counter Ticket – Passenger cancelled the ticket on internet and refund is collected yet.
WEBCANRF refers to Railway Counter Ticket: Passenger cancelled the ticket on internet and refund is collected.
GNWL refers to General Waitlist
TQWL refers to Tatkal Waitlist

Train Running Status | Train Status Live | Find Your Train

Train Running Status online, the complete process of enquiring about train has become so easy and takes less time. Now passengers can check their train’s current running status with a single click. One of the most helpful and user-friendly applications that enables us to check our train’s status without hassle is Erail and some others are also there which helps a lot. Erail gives passengers a faster way to get new info and find their train’s real time.

How can we check live train status?

If we want to know the current Train Running Status, we just need to enter our train’s name or 5-digit train’s number on the search bar and click‘Find Train’. we can then easily find our train and can have train running status as it is shown on our screen with some details like where is the train exactly, when will it come from a particular station or when will it go, Trains between Stations, and whether it is running according to the scheduled time or late. we no longer need to call up and face engaged phone numbers of the Indian Railways Enquiry Office or visit there to figure out. When we enter our train name or number the following will be reflected by the link:
Present Train location along Station Name
• Time of Arrival
• Time of Departure
• Stoppage Duration
• The distance between any two stations
• Information about delay